Quinoa & Sun-dried Tomato Burger

4 Oct

Alright people, because it’s MoFo and MoFo is about sharing… I’m sharing my super secret burger recipe with you! This a delicious burger that has never let me down; everyone I’ve served it to loves it. The outside gets nice and crispy, while the inside stays moist. It’s perfect on a toasted bun with the garlic aioli on top. Warning: you will have garlic breath afterwards!

Quinoa & Sun-dried Tomato Burgers

Makes 8 burgers.


  • 1 1/2 c cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 c cooked garbanzo beans
  • 1 c chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • 4 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 2 tbsp flax meal
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste


  • Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.
  • Chill in the fridge at least 1 hour before forming into patties.
  • Form into 8 patties, about 3 inches across.
  • Fry in oil on medium heat, approximately 3-5 minutes on each side until browned and firm.
  • Serve on a toasted bun with garlic aioli (recipe below), lettuce and sliced tomatoes.

Garlic Aioli


  • 1 1/2 c vegan mayo
  • 5 tbsp lemon juice
  • 8 cloves garlic
  • 1 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper


  • Combine all ingredients in a bowl.
  • Cover and refrigerate 30 minutes before serving.

8 Responses to “Quinoa & Sun-dried Tomato Burger”

  1. Carrie October 4, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Now that sounds like my kind of burger!

  2. Jen Hnatko October 4, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Yum! Nice job. :-) I’ll be trying this soon. I like to collect good vegan burger recipes that don’t contain mushrooms, because my boyfriend fears them. Yay MoFo!

  3. Andy Dufresne October 4, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Sounds tasty!

  4. Mel October 4, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Yum, I really like the sound of these burgers. I’m bookmarking this as I love trying different burger recipes and haven’t attempted one with quinoa yet. Thanks for sharing! :D

  5. Jeni Treehugger October 5, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    This sounds awesome. I’ve never tried using quinoa in a burger. I’m gonna remedy that situation!

  6. Johanna GGG October 5, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    oh I knew there must be a reason that I bought sundried tomatoes today – sounds fantastic

  7. corrinadarling October 6, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    thank you for sharing! to sounds so good. pinning this for later.

  8. Mandee October 16, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Thank you for sharing this with us, I have bookmarked it :D

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

